Skip to main content
Texas voters help Donald Trump become 45th President
Email share

Texas voters helped Donald Trump defeat Hillary Clinton in Tuesday's election to become the 45th President of the United States.
While Trump received 52 percent of the vote in Texas, San Antonio voters went against the grain and voted for Clinton, giving her 57 percent of the vote.

In addition to a new President, area voters made several other decisions.

There is a new sheriff in town. Republican incumbent Bexar County Sheriff Susan Pamerleau lost a close race to Democratic challenger Javier Salazar.
For the first time since 2004, someone won re-election in the U.S. congressional race in District 23. Republican Incumbent Will Hurd defeated former Congressman and Democrat Pete Gallego last night with 50 percent of the vote.

The race for state representative in District 120, Ruth Jones McClendon's old seat, is finally over following special elections and runoffs. Democrat Barbara Gervin Hawkins won convincingly with 78 percent of the vote. Her opponent, Laura Thompson, will hold the seat until January.
San Antonio Independent School District voters approved two referendums. Almost three quarters of eligible voters approved a $450 million bond referendum, and a tax hike to raise $16 million.
The political makeup of the State Board of Education will stay the same. Democrats targeted four republican members following textbook contoversies, but all four held their seats.

See full state and county election results: